Take off barrel on new action

The Real McCoy

I see there is a used take off barrel (300 Weatherby) from a Weatherby in the classifieds. Is it possible to rechamber this to a 300 RUM and install on a Browning A Bolt? I am pretty new to this stuff and dought it can be done but thought I would ask. This would work very well for a build I am trying to gather parts for.

I'm sure you have already looked at the cartridge drawings and seen that a rechambering job will work for this cartridge (encase you didn't, I did & it will). I'm not sure of the thread size, count, and pitch for the weatherby barrel, but if you are not successful with this post, make a new one asking the thread size for both barrels (Weatherby & Browning). I'm sure this is going to vary depending on the exact model, so have that information ready and included for both barrels/actions. If the weatherby is the same thread (diameter, count, and pitch) then you are good, if it is same dia. but different count then you've got a problem. If it is larger, then it might be able to be turned down and re-threaded to fit. This is done very easily when taking a rem. 700 barrel and putting it on a savage 110. Sorry I don't have the specs. on the threads for either action. Good luck!

I'd check your particular receiver and barrel with a thread gauge to verify but what I've found is that the Brownings are either .996" x 32 tpi or .922" x 20 tpi, most being the .922" shank at 20tpi.

It looks like the Weatherby has a 1 1/16"x16 tpi so it should be able to be machined down.