Stupid newbie cleaning questions

CleanShot

Hello

I'm a dumb newbie without a mentor so please excuse my extreme stupidity. I just bought a Franchi Affinity, Savage Mark II .22LR, and Savage 220 slug gun. I'm in the process of getting some cleaning supplies/equipment. Thus far all I have is some Boresnakes for each of the 3 different barrels I have and a FrogLube FrogTube. I'm now in the process of trying to get a rod, jag, and brass brush.

So here go my questions:
1) Am I on the right path? Do I need anything else?
2) What brand of rod should I be getting? Tipton? Pro Shot? Dewey?
3) Do I need different rods for the different gauges/calibers?
4) Should I opt for a one piece rod or does it not matter?
5) Is there a good guide you recommend?

Thanks very much
Sam

Hello

I'm a dumb newbie without a mentor so please excuse my extreme stupidity. I just bought a Franchi Affinity, Savage Mark II .22LR, and Savage 220 slug gun. I'm in the process of getting some cleaning supplies/equipment. Thus far all I have is some Boresnakes for each of the 3 different barrels I have and a FrogLube FrogTube. I'm now in the process of trying to get a rod, jag, and brass brush.

So here go my questions:
1) Am I on the right path? Do I need anything else?
2) What brand of rod should I be getting? Tipton? Pro Shot? Dewey?
3) Do I need different rods for the different gauges/calibers?
4) Should I opt for a one piece rod or does it not matter?
5) Is there a good guide you recommend?

Thanks very much
Sam

Sam,

Please don't take offense but the custom search tool on the top right hand corner is a very useful tool in place yet very under-utilized. There are plenty of information ... take advantage of it.

Check out Bore Cleaning Basics for starters.

Good luck!

Ed

Sam,

Please don't take offense but the custom search tool on the top right hand corner is a very useful tool in place yet very under-utilized. There are plenty of information ... take advantage of it.