Steiner Scopes?

17Fireball

Are Steiner scopes any good? All I ever hear are guys talk about Nightforce. I see Schmidt and Bender being used by top shooters. However, zippo about Steiner. I do hear some about Zeiss as a hunting scope but I am perplexed with the lack of discussion about Steiner.

I used to be a purchasing agent for a company and we considered carrying them but never did because the price point and their lack of popularity. They are really good scopes from what I have heard (you get what you pay for), but I have no other experience with Steiner other than with their binoculars which are top-shelf.

Over at Sniper Hide I saw that Steiner tactical scopes were becoming quite popular. The Steiner Predator Extreme line of hunting scopes are also quite good, but the reticle choices are limited to on (plex S1).

Greetings! I am currently sponsored by Steiner as a precision rifle competitor. I've been using the Steiner 3-15X50 since about July and it is a great scope! I've actually just completed a fairly big review and eval of my scope for publishing here on LRH.com. I'm not sure if they'll get around to publishing it this month or next, it is pretty long with some decent pictures.

I can answer any questions you have about these scopes. Even though I am sponsored by Steiner, I'll not blow smoke where the sun doesn't shine just to get you interested in one. These scopes perform exceptionally well. For reference, I've owned US Optics, Vortex Razors, and currently have a few NF NXS and F1 as well as Mark 4's and now have two of the Steiners.

Geb

Thanks, Gebhardt. I look forward to reading your review. Just trying to wrap my head around how they are similar and dissimilar and compare to Nightforce and Schmidt and Bender.