Sparten Rifles .243 win Range Report/Family Photo

YoungEngineer89

I have been promising Marc that I would write one of these for a while so here we go. This is my first attempt at writing up a report like this so chalk any mistakes up to new-kid-itous.

RIFLE:
Specs:
Remington 700 short action .243 Win
Whiskey-III chassis by KRG
20" Krieger barrel - 1:7.5" twist - #10 Contour (cant remember 100% on the Contour, but I think that is right)
CG extreme trigger - Love these things - its my second one
US Optics 20 MOA base - I ordered a Badger, but Marc asked if he could give me this one to try, and if I didnt like it he would send me a Badger Base, But I wont be getting the badger, I love it
Badger Bolt knob

Optics:
Vortex Razor Gen-I EBR-2b
mil - mil
Badger Rings

Opinion:
All I can say is that I love this thing. My plan for this build was to have a portable hammer that I could kill some coyotes and wolves with; this fits that bill perfectly. The action is so smooth, Marc did a great job with it. Before I sent the rifle to him the action felt pretty gritty but now it's amazing. As I said above, the CG trigger is great. If you have seen my previous posts, when I received the gun in the mail I had a small issue where the firing pin would release when the bolt was closed. A quick call to Marc and CG and I had that issue taken care of, no issues since.

I have nothing bad to say about this rifle.

Today I took the rifle out with some hand loads that I put together to give it a try.

Ammo
Specs:
Brand New Win Brass
CCI #200
Retumbo Powder - I loaded 5 of each at 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, & 47 grains
115 gr Dtacs

I was crunching powder at 45, 46, and 47 grains. I figured that I would be seeing pressure signs at the upper ends of these loads.

Range Report: