Should I AI it?

I had planned on using 6.5 creedmoor brass after I looked at how close they were. I ran one through my RCBS sizer and attached a picture, 250 AI on the left.....until I chamber my barrel I guess I won't know for sure.View attachment 550830
L-25CM, R-.250AI (w. 250 Sav R-P brass)
20240109_114454.jpg

Be cautious about using a case not originally used as the parent. There are differences in CM and .250AI cases that could cause issues.
25cm.jpg
250_Savage_AI.jpg

Last edited:
I resized a couple of once fired 6.5 CM Lapua cases in my 250AI FL die this morning. I then expanded the neck with a .2545" mandrel. Key case measurements are attached. Biggest issue is the 3 thou difference at the base which is preventing the case from chambering. I read in my research that running the case through a 308 FL die solves this problem. I don't have a 308, but my 260 Rem FL die did nothing. I believe a small base body die would correct this issue, but I've no experience with them. Thoughts?

1709759430855.png

Attachments

• 6.5 CM Sized in 250AI FL.pdf
    58.2 KB · Views: 43
Last edited:
My sized down 6.5 creedmoor brass measures .466 at the base. The small base 308 dies didn't do much but brought it down to almost .465. I looks like it might work depending on your dies. I have some 250 savage brass on the way, but I would like to keep them for my Savage 99.......it'd be nice to find something to make brass out of that I don't shoot and I really doubt I'll have a Creedmoor.

My sized down 6.5 creedmoor brass measures .466 at the base. The small base 308 dies didn't do much but brought it down to almost .465. I looks like it might work depending on your dies. I have some 250 savage brass on the way, but I would like to keep them for my Savage 99.......it'd be nice to find something to make brass out of that I don't shoot and I really doubt I'll have a Creedmoor.
.465 would be perfect. I think I'll give it a try.