Rookie looking for a good unit to DIY hunt

Timnterra

I am starting to plan another elk hunt in Colorado or Montana. I am planning on buying an over the counter second season bull tag if I go to Colorado or a elk mule deer combo if I go to Montana. My last elk hunting experience was not the best. I went with an experienced friend who had a "secret spot" where he had always killed an elk. Well it came out that the last time he had been there was 15 years ago. Needless to say the secret spot was well known and covered in hunters. I need a place to go. I've got a few maps and have been analyzing the flattops wilderness. I was in the area in 2012 but never went into the wilderness boundry. I have no experience hunting Montana so in open to anything... Any good ideas of places to look? Thanks

If you are looking over the counter for Colorado, there are a ton of options. I would do some research on the CPW website in the statistics section. Look at success rates for each unit and each season. Although the statistics aren't 100% accurate, they are generally close. The other thing you can do is utilize the hunt planners available through the CPW. Finally, you can use the hunting atlas available through the CPW website. It is loaded with information on summer and winter ranges, migratory routes, and can also show you which roads are actually open to vehicles.

The one thing I will tell you is that if you hunt an OTC unit in Colorado, you will need to get off the road a bit, or you will definitely see a lot of orange. A mile off of a road or trail will definitely give you separation, and typically a 1/2 mile will even do the trick as most hunters are lazy. If you are in an area that is 'covered in hunters' you need to get farther off the road.

Thanks for the info. I've been trying to get the hang of the CPW website but really didn't know where to start. The success rate statistics helps. I'll check that out.