RL 26 velocity change from lot to lot??

smokin_gunn2

I am new to reloading with RL 26. I am loading for a 7mm RM. I had loaded a ladder with a one pounder that I had around. After loading that ladder and collecting data I reloaded another ladder lower but over lapped 67 and 67.2gn with a different lot out of an 8lb keg. Velocity was 100ft faster?? I just wanted to see if this is typical of this powder?

I have definitely seen larger variances in RL26 from lot to lot than other powders that I use. The 2 different lots that I have on hand right now, both from 2019, show a 60fps difference with the same charge. I had to drop the charge 0.6 grains to get back into the node.

I was shocked to see 100 fps. Luckily I am in load development so it's a good time to find this out. Luckily I wasn't going up in a ladder.

It is always recommended to start lower, like you did, when changing to a new jug of powder. If not, it would definitely cause problems like you experienced. I will say 100fps faster at that lower charge setting is pretty big.

I have been reading a lot of threads about that and I have since started looking for a node lower in the pocket because it shot really nice at the upper end but I didn't want to be at 69gns in the heat. I got almost 3200 fps out of the slow powder with no pressure signs but when I changed lots luckily I was looking for a lower node. I hope both 8lbers I bought athis the same time are a little closer in burn rates. Just opened an 8lb jug and still doing load development for two different rifles. One is a 7mm RM and the other is a 6.5 Creedmoor.