Remington Sendero Stock

Jtomlinson

I am new to long range shooting as a discipline and am still running in the barrel of my .300 Win Sendero SFII, bought just 6 weeks ago.

I am left handed but manage to shoot this rifle without any problem, especially from the prone position.

I have found the palm swell to be a little on the large side, infact this is my only real kick against this rifle.

Of the many reviews of custom rifles I have read of and featured rifles I have seen set up for LRH, they all seem to sport a MacMillan stock of some form or other.

What, if anything, would be the advantage to making a swap to such a stock? I am none too familiar with the Macmillan range and do not know indeed if a stock that was sympathetic to a L/h using a R/h Sendero even exists.

Is the standard Sendero stock acceptable for LRH or is a swap to some form of McMillan stock almost inevitable, if so which type is conducive to being used by a left hander, in that I mean that does not have a roll over cheek piece or some other features that are designed solely for a right hander.

Sorry if the question seems a "no brainer" but as they say if You don't ask, you dont get to know.

600NITRO,

Welcome to the fun side of hunting.

If "running in" means breaking in, it may be a bit premature to be concerned with a different stock.

Your Question: What, if anything, would be the advantage to making a swap to such a stock? I am none too familiar with the Macmillan range and do not know indeed if a stock that was sympathetic to a L/h using a R/h Sendero even exists.

Just my thinking:
1) Much niftier
2) Large WOW factor
3) A square butt stock (bottom parallel w/bore) is a big plus.
4) Flat forend rides sand bags better. (But who hunts with a pedestal rest?)
5) Feels good (Kind of like dancing with the right woman)
6) Will most probably provide more long range consistency due to the specific design.