Remington 700 Action, barrel lug?

WI_HUNTER

Hey guys, its been a while since i've been on here but i have one question. We have quite a few rifles that my grandfather and father put together way back when, my gramps was a machinist and engineer for us steel. I have a remington model 700 sps .243 that was purchased about 5-6 years ago and my dad took it to his buddy to have the boyds stock bedded and the bolt jeweled and its the last father my dad had put together for me before he passed away 4 years ago. I shot a doe this past hunting season and when i was shooting last weekend i gave it a good look over and noticed on the barrel lug? between the action and the barrel has two fine cracks. How long would it take to have a gunsmith repair that? and if any gunsmiths are on here what would it rough estimate cost? I havent had anytime to call our old gunsmith, he lives 2 hours away and im a poor highschool student haha. Any input would be greatly appreciated!

It would take 5-10 minutes max but you need to know if it's a stock recoil lug or aftermarket and if it's blued (chromoly) or stainless If you care about having the same steel as what you had). The thickness is important to maintain the correct head space. I have never seen one crack and I have taken probably a hundred of them apart so if it's something else that caused the cracking then it the time to fix it goes up.

Everything is stock the only things on the rifle that have been changed is the trigger pull, bolt jeweling, and the stock. I've never seen anything like that at all myself. Im still shooting my dad's handloads which are very mild loads, and i've never shot any of his handloads with a malfunction.