Reloading Questions

TheFishBox

So I have been reloading for a couple years but I just got a new 338 lapua and I want to make precision ammo. So I would like it if guys could say there reloading steps from beginning to end. My main question is, so I shoot a round then I deprime my case with a full length die but only bump the case back a very slight amount, then I have a neck die this is where I am lost how do I adjust this die to fit my chamber. I fired a round and the brass rechambers with ease so do I need to do anything other than deprime?

I am a little confused on your statement that you are FL sizing and then neck sizing. If you have a body die (does not touch neck at all) it makes sense. If you don't (ie your FL sizer is also sizing the neck) than neck sizing is redundant and unnecessary. I use Redding Type S competition dies for 338LM. Here is my process.

#1. tumble cases
#2. Use body die to bump shoulder back 1 thou (hornady 1-shot lube)
#3. Type-S neck size (deprimes and uses a bushing and carbide expander ball on neck)
#4. Uniform primer pocket (Sinclair primer pocket tool)
#6. Trim case to trim-to length (wilson trimmer)
#7. Chamfer and deburr neck
#8. Wash brass, brush necks, and dry in oven at 150F (weird, I admit).
#9. Prime (hornady hand prime)
#10. Charge cases (use a RCBS 5-0-5 and trickler to get exact as possible)
#11. Seat bullets (I seat each twice, alter micrometer seater in between so measurment to ogive is exact)
#12. Burn up all these hours of prep with a few second flight time!

Hope that helps, and hope I'm not forgetting anything. BTW there is a reloading forum on this site with a ton of great contributors and info. Put your next post there and you'll get someone smarter than me to respond...