reloading mistake

sport20

hi
i'm new to reloading and have been doing alot of research, so i ended up buying the rockchucker supreme kit by rcbs. any way in my speer book which came with it my load data for 22-250 using h4895 was a min of 34 grains and a max of 38 grains.
i've seen what other people have been using so i started with the following

winchester casings . cci 200 primers 60 gr. v-max bullets 36 grains of h4895.
winchester casings . cci 200 primers 60 gr. v-max bullets 37 grains of h4895.
winchester casings . cci 200 primers 60 gr. v-max bullets 38 grains of h4895.
all 3 load groups were .020" off the lands
savage axis

i shot off the 36 grains. all ok
then 37 grains,ok but noticed some marks on end of casing.(afterwards)
then i tried the 38 grains and i could smell powder alot more. when i tried to eject shell i couldn't get it out. after prying the bolt up it came out with some difficulty. primer was completley gone. did this twice with much same results because i'm hard headed. i know oviously it was to big of a load, but i didn't think this would happen if it was listed in the book. can anyone see what i did wrong for this to happen.

Mid to upper 30's on the grain scale is not a whole lot of powder. It's nothing near the big magnums or even the every-day magnums like the 7mm rem. So with it being less powder in the 22-250, jumps by a whole grain is a much larger change than say in a 338/378 Wby.

A 1.0 grain jump from 36 to 37 grains is about a 2.7% increase in charge. Doesn't sound like much. But a 1.0 grain jump from 105 to 106 in a 338-378 Wby is about 0.94% increase in charge. (almost 2/3 less change)