Reloading Equipment

IndianaMatt

I'm looking to get buy a reloading setup. I have some experience in the past but always used a buddy's stuff. That said I know the basics just need the tools. I have been looking at the starter kits from-
Lyman
Redding
RCBS
Lee
Hornady
Which company and why should I go with them? Also any preference on dies?
I will be loading - .222, .243, 25-06, 35 Whelan and 6.5x284.
Possibly a .264 Win Mag in the near future.

I began with a starter kit from Lyman, one of those hand held presses. I loaded many thousands of pistol rounds before the cast iron actually broke. The single round that didn't function was a .44 Mag with an over spec rim thickness that wouldn't advance the cylinder.

I then switched to a single stage RCBS Rockchucker. Appropriate name, it's solid as a rock.

I recently made my first venture to progressive presses and picked up a Lee Loadmaster but still haven't set it up yet. For load development, I'll use it as a single stage until I find what my rifles like before I try using it as a progressive.

What is your objective? If you just want quality ammo customized to your rifle at a decent price, any will probably do. A single stage is probably fine unless you're going to shoot a whole lot.

If you're trying to compete with the benchrest shooters at your club or enter competitions, ask those folks what they use. You'll certainly spend more money, but buy once, cry once. I'm happy getting sub MOA. Those guys are always trying to shrink groups no matter how tight they are.

I would like to be able to produce decent quality stuff able to shoot around 1 moa or so. At this time I do not belong to a rifle oriented club I don't believe there is even one in my area. We have many shotgun (trap and skeet) clubs in the area but I do not know of any rifle. I do not plan to shoot competitions at all either.