rcbs vs dillon

jls1997

I'm new to this forum and looking for opinions and I'm sure EVERYONE on here has had this question before so I'm sure I will get some great advise and some one sided bias.

I am a novice reloader but an avid shooter. My shooting habit has become expensive with factory ammo and am getting ready to move from a rock chucker press to a progressive. I use my rock chucker for my 338 win mag and 243 Winchester. My wife has taken an interest in shooting pistols and I too love shooting pistols (380, 9mm, 40 s&w and 45acp). I also have an M4 that shoots 223 rem. I have been diligent in saving brass and have many empties for all of my calibers (9 in total).

I have been doing research and have narrowed my search down to a RCBS pro 2000 and a Dillon 550.

I like the RCBS for the look, primer system and cheaper caliber changes,. I also like the fact that you can change from a manual index to an auto index for roughly $80.

I like the Dillon 550 for the associated reputation, warranty and common use by most reloader's who use progressive presses. The downfall I see to this press is you are stuck with manual index and the primer tube which in rare cases has proven dangerous.

Since the price difference is negligable between these models (at least to me) I am looking for opinions from people who may have experience with both models. Also the pros and cons to both.

Since I am buying new the "no BS" warranty will apply to both. I plan to only buy one press for the rest of my life.

The main problem I see in this is there is the crowd who bought their Dillon and never looked back and or have never used the RCBS. The RCBS has not been around as long as the Dillon but I have seen very good reviews for it. Unfortunately I don't have access to people who have both and give them a run through the paces and come to my own opinion.