Powder burnrate chart

smithjasona1978

I am still pretty new to long range and reloading. I am trying to make some sense of why my guns like some powders and don't like others. I found what looks to me like a pretty good powder burnrate list over on reloaders nest. It list all powders on one list from fastest to slowest. Would one of the experts on here mind having a look at it and telling me how accurate the list is? It seems pretty up to date. I saw RE25 but not RE26 or RE33. And are there any better lists out there that are more accurate or up to date? Thanks again.

I am still pretty new to long range and reloading. I am trying to make some sense of why my guns like some powders and don't like others. I found what looks to me like a pretty good powder burnrate list over on reloaders nest. It list all powders on one list from fastest to slowest. Would one of the experts on here mind having a look at it and telling me how accurate the list is? It seems pretty up to date. I saw RE25 but not RE26 or RE33. And are there any better lists out there that are more accurate or up to date? Thanks again.

Charts are only a guide and YMMV depending on your set up (i.e. barrel twist, groove, length, bullet used, etc...). I'd take accuracy over velocity anytime.

Happy safe reloading, shooting, and hunting.

I use Hodgden chart for reference. It is not completely up to date but pretty good. Be careful about the chart. Just because two powders are next to each other does not mean they burn the same.

Steve

I had a look at the one Hodgdon has and it is way different. Now I am more confused. Hodgdon has re25 listed as faster than h1000. Reloaders nest has it listed half way between h1000 and retumbo. Is one list wrong, or is there just that much variation between lots of the same powder?