Please help me set up my new Savage 112 338LM

cboom

I'm far from an expert, but have been shooting for 30+ years, and been handloading for most of that time. But until now all my experience has been with lighter dedicated hunting guns, with the largest being a Sako chambered in the .308 Lazzeroni Warbird.

Have had the itch for awhile now of getting one of the big .338's. When I ran across these Savage 112's and did a bit of research they seemed like a great way to test the waters at a low price. So far I have the gun, EGW 20 Moa rail, 150 rounds of Lapua brass, and a box of Hornady ELD-M 285 gr bullets to start out with, plan on trying 300 Bergers if I'm not happy with the results. Powders I plan on trying are R33, H1000, and Retumbo to start with. Also plan to bed the action and rail before shooting.

Sorry this post is getting long, but here are a few of my questions to you experts (and please tell me if you think I am off track in the things I have already mentioned.

#1 Scope. Leaning towards the NF SHV 5-20x56 with MOAR redicle. Got the economy model gun, figured I wouldn't break the bank on the scope. And they seem to get good reviews. So the question is, is that a good move or is there a better option around that price point?

#2 Bipod. looking at the Harris swivel models. For bench and prone what do you guys find to be the best length? 6-9", 9-13", or something else?

#3 Dies. Better off with full length sizing dies, or something like the Lee collet neck dies?

Any help will be very appreciated with these questions or things I failed to mention. Thanks so much in advance!

I would get really good dies as they are important to your reloads. Maybe look at a match die set they should come with a neck die full length and micrometer seating die. Your scope choice sounds good but if you could spend a little more go for it as you can use your scope where ever you want if this is not your cup of tea. Or better yet you want to upgrade the rifle later on.