overall length for abolt medallion?

jschmitz192

I have a Browning Abolt medallion 2 that I have tried almost every factory load there is. The best I can get out of this gun is about 3.5" at 100 yards. I was hoping for a lot better than this. It is a 30-06 that I bought new. It probably has 200 rounds through it. I always let it cool between shots and clean it regularly(about every 50 shots).
I have a .243 that I can get .420" inch groups and a .300 win mag that I can get .9 inch groups. So I know how to shoot. I just cant get the Abolt medallion 30-06 to group. I have switched scopes and put Talley rings on it. Both scopes shoot good on other guns. I guess I want to try handloads. Somebody once told me that factory loads overall length is way to short for the abolt. I don't know, maybe.
What overall length should I try? I was going to start with 180 grain nosler ballistic tips. Any other ideas are greatly appreciated. I'm fairly new to all this stuff.

I was going to start with 180 grain nosler ballistic tips. Any other ideas are greatly appreciated. I'm fairly new to all this stuff.

H4350 to start. Find seating depth for your gun by way of testing loads seated at differing depths.

A-Bolts have the detachable internal mag. It tends to be short, which is going to be your limiting factor in this setup. But, I have figured out a way to work around this with my A-Bolts.

First, remove your internal mag, take it apart, and measure the internal length of the mag box with your calipers. Then subtract about .010" from the mag box and that is your maximum cartridge overall length you can use in your rifle (as a repeater).

Then use a OAL tool to measure your chamber/cartridge depth to the lands with whatever particular bullet you plan on shooting. Each bullet will produce a different distance because they are all shaped differently.