Optimal barrel length for a 7-08

youngtrout

Hello, working on a 7-08 remington 700 project. I'm wondering about the optimal barrel length for the 7-08.

I'm somewhat new to customs, but from looking at other full length and beyond stuff (mag and custom long 30's) people favor the longer barrels.

But,,,,with the short case of a 7-08 or other 308's, there seems to me that there has to be a max length where there is no longer a velocity gain, powder is burned up, and at some point there should be a length that would actually decrease velocity because of barrel drag??

I'm looking for some 7-08 experience, I'm looking for that balance between max velocity and portability,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,thoughts??? Would love to hear thoughts about powders and bullets if you have them as well

(for some background, I'm talking about targets and deer sized game out to 500-600 yards, not long range for most but I'm also looking to get this out of a 8-10lb total weight rig

any thought are appreciated!

I think it depends upon the bullet you are using in a particular caliber. I am not going to say you will not gain any velocty with a longer barrel, but for the cases you indicated, David Tubb determined that 25" was the most efficient barrel length to use.

I believe that you would likely see some velocity increase all the way up to 40" , but ergonomics would be poor.

If you hunt from box stands or some kind of enclosure, I would stay with 22-23" barrels at a max. If you are hunting from the ground shooting prone, I would go with a 25-26" barrel for the stability and a little more umph out the barrel and less umph coming back.