Old Powder

45steve

I have some RL-15 that's about 8 years old. Did a ladder test. I should have had velocity from about 2800-3000 fps
I had 2674-2867fps Model 7 300 SAUM 168 gr Bergers VLD
I had 2 rounds I loaded years ago and got 2950 & 2970 but I don't know what the formula was.

I also shot my 1911. I had loaded some 230 gr with 5.9 of Unique that's also 8 years old. I had velocity of 625 when the manual said I should be getting 800-850.
I've reloaded for 30 years and never had this problem. Of course, I've never used 8-year-old powder before.
TIME TO BUY NEW POWDER?

I shot a gallon jar of 4831 that was bought in 1964 for 50 cents a lb he bought 50 lbs of it at one time just rework your load a little at a time till you see pressure signs see where that get you on your velocities and shoot it was always told powder that finally degraded will have a brown substance in it don't know for sure never seen it I shot the jar up in my 270 and 6 mm in the 80s and early 90s without a problem. David

I have some RL-15 that's about 8 years old. Did a ladder test. I should have had velocity from about 2800-3000 fps
I had 2674-2867fps Model 7 300 SAUM 168 gr Bergers VLD
I had 2 rounds I loaded years ago and got 2950 & 2970 but I don't know what the formula was.

I also shot my 1911. I had loaded some 230 gr with 5.9 of Unique that's also 8 years old. I had velocity of 625 when the manual said I should be getting 800-850.
I've reloaded for 30 years and never had this problem. Of course, I've never used 8-year-old powder before.
TIME TO BUY NEW POWDER?

I have shot many old powders (15 to 20+ years old), and I have not had problems. There might be other issues like the chrono.

I remember taking a 22-250 to the range to test loads, and couldn't finish the tests when the range closed - so I continued the next day and the first string (0.5 grs heavier load) was 150-ish slower, as were all the other loads... the chorno lighting was different.