Now for a dumb question

Squatch

I just got a new 6.5x284 Cooper. I received a new set of Forester Brenchrest dies that say 6.5x284win on the box.
I fired my first 15 rounds and went to resize them and they will not fit into the resizing die. I am new to the long range game and the 6.5x284, but not to basic reloading and I have never seen brass so tight going into a resizing die.

Am I missing something here?

Check with Cooper to be sure which 6.5x284 you have...But the only 6.5x284 chambering I see on their website is the 6.5x284 Norma. There is the Win, Norma, and Norma Improved. If i had to guess, I'd say you probably have a 6.5-284 Norma. The dimensions are slightly different than the Win...I would send the dies back and get the correct ones.

Are you actually able to size the brass with the die and it just takes some brute force to push the brass in and pull it out? It it so tight you are afraid to push the brass all the way in? Case stuck in the die? Hope not :(

Did you clean the new die with alcohol, acetone, etc. before using it?

I think you have a set made for the cartridge based off of the original .284 we casings, something that would be impossible to find these days. I have a friend who actually held a World Record at Williamsport using this case but could never make the newer casings work as good. I would think with some extra lube and elbow grease you should be able to make it work. Maybe one of the gunsmiths on this site can help clear this up...are there different reamers made for different casings for the 6.5/284... God another fiasco caused by it !!