Nickle vs. regular brass?

Jodipuma

I'm fairly new to reloading and was wondering if there are any extra steps that need to be taken with Nickle played brass compared to regular brass? Is it harder to load? Does it resize different?

The nickel plated cases load and shoot just like the non-plated. I have heard some people say that you are putting your sizing die at risk with the plated but I have loaded many rounds of plated cases without any damage to the dies.

The nickel plated cases load and shoot just like the non-plated. I have heard some people say that you are putting your sizing die at risk with the plated but I have loaded many rounds of plated cases without any damage to the dies.

I have had the same results and agree with this statement.

I was working up a new lot of h4831. I used mixed brass and it appears nickel has less capacity becausr the lower charges had similar velocities of brass at higher charges.

Attachments

• 20140220_220019.jpg
    20140220_220019.jpg
    153.2 KB · Views: 108
Nickle is certainly harder and more difficult to work with. That being said it can work fine. I was given a large lot of Federal nickel in 300 Wby. Given the cost, I reloaded it. Ensure the brass is very clean (I use stainless media), lube well when resizing and your dies will be fine. It will dull the case trimmer head quicker as it's harder, I replaced with a carbon cutter. You will notice some flaking of the nickel when trimming and chamfering, no big deal. All in it shoots fine, never corrodes, and feeds well. It's just a bit more difficult to work with. Would I buy it new, NO. If you have it use it!

As for capacity the federal is not coated on the interior.