New to this: .308 600-1000y shooting

Optix

I'm sure this has been addressed in the past, just looking to get a good answer.

I'm a beginner shooter: I purchased my first rifle two months ago, a Savage Axis .308 heavy barrel with a 3-10x Mueller scope. After a single session and just over a dozen shots, I was shooting with a ~3" deviation at 200y.

I'm getting ahead of myself for sure, but I'm looking to get more information for 600-1000y shooting. I've read many articles and have found .308s are only "reliable" to 800m (875y) but are capable of hitting 1000y at 35-40 MOA adjustment.

I'm looking at purchasing a Bushnell Elite 6500 scope in the near future, I've read great reviews (like below) and the price is just right for my budget.

Real Guns - Bushnell's Elite 6500 - When I pick one for myself

I guess that is all just backstory leading up to my actual dilemma. For long range shooting, what is the best or most common practice for, say, 1000 yard shooting? Do you zero at 500y to achieve the necessary angle required to shoot extra distance? I'm not looking to use a canted base, so just not sure what the best methods are.

As it happens, I work with law enforcement, most of the guys hunt but they are all firing at less than 300y so they've been unable to answer most of my questions for long range shooting.

Again, I'm admittedly a beginner, but do my homework and pick up skills very quick. I'm looking to do this right the first time, so my aim is to not reinvent the wheel, and collaborate with more seasoned shooters to see what is commonplace.

Thanks for your time, and any replies, in advance.

When it comes to your learning curve, here are a couple of links that are a good place to start:

http://www.longrangehunting.com/forums/f5/making-case-308-winchester-michael-eichelle-47586/

.308 Win Cartridge Guide within AccurateShooter.com