New to long range shooting and hunting

Craig300

I am new to long range shooting and hunting.I have a savage model 16 300 wsm that I am trying to get this done with. Needing help on where to start with scope,bipod and maybe new stock .like I said new please don't blow my mind or my bank account lol

You don't need to blow a bank account to shoot long range as a starter. Get a decent scope & shoot ALOT. Practice is what makes a shooter.
Thanks, Kirk

There is a good deal on a 6.5 Creedmoor Savage on here in the classifieds. You should check it out.

I would check out the super sniper line on SWFA.com. The fixed 10x is $300.00 and is a good option for not much money. I am a fan of Harris bipods, would recommend the S model (swivel) with the nothced legs; around $110.00. For a stock I would try an HS Precision, around $350.00. You might try your stock before spending this money though; if you have an accustock it may be good enough.

How does the rifle shoot now? Reload or factory ammo?

It shoots good at 200(that's all I have at my range) I'm shooting factory ammo because all I have done in the past is deer hunt and I was happy if I could get a 3 shot group Ina 8inch pie pan (kill zone of a deer) but I am looking for some reloads now to try out

It shoots good at 200(that's all I have at my range) I'm shooting factory ammo because all I have done in the past is deer hunt and I was happy if I could get a 3 shot group Ina 8inch pie pan (kill zone of a deer) but I am looking for some reloads now to try out

I shoot pretty much the same setup and can hit a 8" target fairly easy at 600 yards, so this rifle probably can too.

Might be a good idea to get the rifle shooting it's best before you change much, this way you will see the accuracy each new component adds. I would try to get to 2" or better groups at 200 yards before you change much.