New to Forum, Seeking advice on rifle build

LR802

Hello All,

I'm new to the forum so first of all, hello. In my 20's, in the military, stationed in Georgia. I have shot all my life and would consider myself a good shot. I'm new to the idea of long range shooting though since I come from the northeast where shot opportunities are almost never more than 100 yards and you would have to put a significant amount of effort into finding a situation to shoot past 300 yards while hunting.

To the point though. I'm looking to build a long range hunting rifle, I have a pretty good idea what I want but would like any help or advice in pinning down the details. I'm looking to build a rifle based off of a Remington 700 short action. It's non debatable for my situation and I'm not here to get into the weeds about it. It will be used for Whitetail deer mostly, Hogs occasionally, and hopefully later on pronghorn or elk. But for now, mainly whitetails (eventually) at ranges out to 600-800 yards( given enough skill and practice behind the gun, years)and shooting paper out to 1000+. Being in the military I can't have a massive gun collection so This will be my do all rifle though I understand "that doesn't exist". I'll end up putting an aftermarket stock on, bedding it, good glass and Rebarrel. Looking for advice on caliber though. Looking at 6.5 creedmoor, .260 Remington, .308 and open to others short actions. Any input and help would be appreciated! Thanks

Personally I would go with the .260 Rem but I wouldn't hunt Elk with it unless your really close to the animal.

All right thanks, I didn't plan on long range elk with it, for the sake of the animal and human error I would step up in caliber for them. Anyone else use one of the 6.5's or 260 for hunting?