need your thoughts /cheapscate

lefty2

Hi, Went on holiday and to ensure that any intruders would not get my guns complete i hid the bolts 3 of them in a secure place , now after 16 months of looking they are still hidden My Sako being one of the guns .. I have several enfield 06 bolts which are a few thou bigger in diameter than the sako and also a bit long ..I am a competent machinist and feel capable of reducing the diameter and shortening the bolt to fit but have been told that the m17 bolt is not a good choice .. A new bolt cost about the same as a new gun no one has suggested a better choice .. will the bolt from the old war horse do the job What are the real problems ..

The person who told you the M17 bolt is not a good choice was spot on. The M17 cocks on closing, your modern rifles cock on opening. The M17 was made with steels from the beginning of the last century,. It was, also, heat treated with 'old' technology. Modern steels did not come into common use until WW2. I'd keep looking for that hiding spot, if I were you. Trying to adapt critical parts designed for one rifle to another doesn't make sense from a practical or safety stand point.

Keep looking and buy a safe. Then you can hide the combination, and forget where.:) Been there done that. Good luck!

i hid the bolts 3 of them in a secure place , now after 16 months of looking they are still hidden

Bob, at 85 you have done good. We call it 'Ole Timers' here in the Carolina Hills. Had a dose of it yesterday. lightbulbJust don't mix up your powders and all will work out fine. Some times I can relive the day and when I get to where I last saw the ITEM of interest it is right there where I put it....It wasn't lost at all.:D

Good luck...did you put it in the frezzer?:rolleyes:

Before I had a safe I hid some cash. I could not remember where I put it.
I finally found it....... I had stapled a pocket from an old pair of jeans to the side of a wood shelf unit and put the money inside...