Need some Muzzle Break advice.

Speedygoss

Whoa, Whoa, Whoa... Before you beat me up too bad I already tried the Search function. (newbie on this forum, not forums in general.) :) Although I found many good threads on breaks I am seeking info for the .338 RUM specifically. I hunt every species of game I can get a tag for here in AZ. I am fairly new to long range shooting. I recently finished building a Remington 700 chambered in .257 Wby. I have used this rifle to wrapped my head around turrets and MOA adjustments. dopping wind etc. I shoot it really well out to about 750yds. Since I have "proved" to myself this long range hunting is something I believe I can get a handle on and achieve I decided to purchase a rifle with a little longer range potential than the .257. After a lengthy debate on a cartridge choice I ultimately decided on the .338 RUM. Not just any rifle but I specifically wanted a Rem. 700 Sendero to start with. Long story short, I purchased one last week. It will be here this afternoon. It already has a Shrewd muzzle break on it. I have been told Vias is the way to go. I will be shooting prone and would also like options for an effective break with no ports in the bottom.

Thanks,
Speedy.

There are a lot of great muzzle brakes but Vias is not one of them IMO, you couldn't pay me to shoot a rifle with one on it again. On three 338 RUM's I've used the Muscle brake on two and a factory tapered one a Hollands, both work great and don't blow stuff all over the place.

There are a lot of great muzzle brakes but Vias is not one of them IMO, you couldn't pay me to shoot a rifle with one on it again. On three 338 RUM's I've used the Muscle brake on two and a factory tapered one a Hollands, both work great and don't blow stuff all over the place.

Bigngreen,
Thank you for your response. I will look into those. Any input on how the Shrewd
break that is already on it might work? This will be my first rifle with a break so I really have nothing to compare it to.