Need help with a problem

nelson

I am trying to find a souloution for a problem. One of my customers and the owner of my best gopher and badger shooting pasture! Has a teenage son whose shoots right handed but only has vision in his left eye. They would like to find a scope mounting system that would offset the optics for use with the left eye but allow for comfortable right handed shooting. I have mentioned the possibility of switching to left handed shooting but this is not an option because of some physical problems he has due to the same birth abnormality that ruined his right eye. Any help with this ie: Manufactures links etc would be very much appreciated.

varmicide,
I once developed a severe pain on my right elbow to the point that even when shooting my 9mm it would hurt a lot. I started practicing with my left hand and it worked pretty good after a while. All this to say that in the search I learned that if you hold the gun in your right hand, throw your head to the right, over the right shoulder while aiming using your left eye has the same efect. You'll be on target! Of course this did not help me because my problem was my right elbow not my right eye. Please try it your self and and you'll see it's very doable and you can still be pretty accurate.

I saw a guy at the range shoot right handed using the left eye. Claimed to be left eye dominant and shot that way all the time.

Couple of weeks later he was out there again, this time his son was shooting right handed using the left eye ...

Seems like it would really hurt the nose, but that's what they were doing.

My Great grandmother shot the same way. They made a custom stock that had alot of drop in the comb and slight bend to the right. The gun was shot open sights. Just a thought.

Being right handed and left eye dominant I sorta know where he is coming from.My nephews have the same problem and we just taught them to shoot left handed from the start.