Need better hand loads

clamb4

Hello all, I am new to this site. I have been reading the different post for about a week and have learned a lot. The more I learn the more questions the new knowledge raises.

Some background, I have been hunting and shooting for a longtime. I have been reloading for 20 years and have been hunting out of state (Calif.) for 20 years, mostly Wyoming for mule deer. I have been in situations in Wyoming where shots have been available at around 500 yards that I have passed up because I was not confident enough in my ability and equipment to take the shot at a breathing animal at this distance. So I started looking for information that would make me able to shoot out to around 600yards on deer and elk. Then I found this site and I hit the mother load.

I have 3 rifles,
.338 win mag. Interarms mark x, with pac nor barrel, McMillan stock, mussel brake, shoots ¾ to ½ moa most of the time.
7mm rem mag. Wentworth interarms factory barrel, McMillan stock, shoot 5/8 to 1 moa most of the time.
280 AI. Interarms mark x, with pac nor barrel, Ramline stock, shoots ¾ moa.
All rifles are glass bedded.
All rifles are topped with 3 x 9 x 40 scopes. But I just bought a Burris fullfield 4.5 x 14 x 42 with the ballistic plex recital and then sent it off to have target turrets installed at the factory ($ 80). Have not got it back yet. I was going to put this scope on the .338 win. with Burris signature ring with -10 or -20 moa offset whichever seems to be needed.

I hope to do better with the things I am learning from this site. I generally shoot 3 shot groups figuring for a hunting rifle this should be good enough. The above accuracy would be fine I think even for long range shooting except I get a lot of flyers on the .338 and the 7 mm not as many with the 280 AI. The flyers open up my groups to 1 to 1.5 moa.