Neck turning: Trying to turn full neck but seeing cutting high on shoulder (280 AI)

1Moose

I'm new to neck turning and am using Sinclair 4000 toolset on once-fired and FL sized Nosler 280 AI brass. The problem I'm having is that on some of my cases I see cut marks high on the shoulder (junction of shoulder to sidewall), even when the cutter isn't cutting near right at the junction of the neck to the shoulder. I am using the 40 degree cutter I purchased to match the 280 AI steeper shoulder angle. I thought I'd see a slight cut / rub where the neck meets the shoulder and stop turning there.

Screen Shot 2021-12-13 at 8.13.33 AM.png

I bumped the shoulders .002" with Redding FL dies and used the expander ball. Before turning, I trimmed all cases to 2.519" to get uniform length, and expanded the case mouths with the Sinclair expander mandrel. From reading, this should push consistencies to the outside of the neck so they can be trimmed. The cases fit with minimal play on the turning mandrel (expander mandrel measures .001 larger diameter than the turning mandrel). It is admittedly difficult to get perfectly consistent case lengths with my Lyman hand trimmer, but I tried to keep them within a thousandth. Note that I did end up with a few cases that were cut into the shoulder all the way around (those must have been slightly shorter from my trimming is what I'm guessing), so I imagine I need to throw those out?