My two DIY projects, build # one brass case annealer

aushunter1

Hi guys, been here for a while & actually don't think I have ever started a thread.

Anyway I have been active more on the reloading side as it is what I enjoy in he sport, apart from actually pulling the trigger that is šŸ˜ .

I did two builds a while ago(around 4 or 5 years ago now) & thought I would share them with you.

One is an annealer & the other is a SS pin tumbler which I will start another thread as there is to much info/pictures.

My background is I am a chef by trade here in Aus but I love to challenge myself & use the brain & hands I was given to do things apart from food.

So firstly I did the annealer, I have linked it in a post before but thought I would go into more detail.

After doing a fair bit of research(which is half the fun) & looking at many other DIY's I came up with this.
Basically it is a 1st aid box, 2x 12V motors with speed controllers & digital display, 240v to 12v power transformer, 9 inch cake tin, bernzomatic LPG gas bottle, braided hose & manual nozzle, various brackets, alloy tubing & connectors/couplers.

1st aid box

1st aid box2.jpg

So I started of with a mock up for the design.

20151218_102848.jpg

Once I had that worked out went to work on the install of all the external & internal parts

Internals.jpg

I needed a hopper, so I turned the 2 internal metal shelves into the hopper with Perspex sides so I could see how many cases I had left.

case hopper.jpg

The end product in action.
Basically I use 750F templaq to set the wheel speed timer to the flame intensity then adjust the feeder wheel.

The whole build cost me about $200 which I think is pretty cheap for an annealer!

But it was a bit of fun to build & serves a great purpose prolonging the life of expensive brass *& helping with accuracy as well with nice consistent neck tension when used with other reloading practices.

Annealing colour.jpg