My Custom Paint Job . . .

lckytylr

Sooo, as I'm new to Long Range shooting, this rifle isn't set up for long range . . . it's all factory.

If this isn't interesting to you, I won't take offense.

I bought a used Remington 700 in 7RUM. All factory, except for this hideous paint job. It HAD to be fixed.

Attachments

• 2012-11-04_18-23-45_633-1.jpg
    2012-11-04_18-23-45_633-1.jpg
    29.6 KB · Views: 114
And so I began . . . almost 3 straight hours of rigorous sanding to remove the insane number of rattle-can layers the previous owner applied, and then a flat OD Green base coat from Aluma-Hyde I bought from Brownell's.

After first coat of OD Green, I wrapped entire stock in (laughs welcome) Bridal Mesh Netting used for table decoration. Then I sprayed over it with Desert Tan.

Attachments

• 2012-11-26_20-48-46_314.jpg
    2012-11-26_20-48-46_314.jpg
    46.6 KB · Views: 80
That coat got me my "snake scale" look . . . now on to the chore of creating digital.

I think I spent a total of about 6 hours cutting out a matrix of 1/4" square digi-patterns using sign vinyl and an x-acto knife. Ugh . . . the finger cramps.

Attachments

• Vinyl.jpg
    Vinyl.jpg
    153 KB · Views: 69
Then about 3 hours of taping off the first layer of digital. As you can imagine, the bridal mesh had to be secured to the rifle for paint and there were areas that weren't uniform in finish where I had ties. I purposely left those non-uniform areas uncovered so that the next layer of paint would cover them up.

Attachments

• 2012-12-01_11-36-51_246.jpg
    2012-12-01_11-36-51_246.jpg
    115.1 KB · Views: 57