Muzzle velocity

samrobles512

Hello,
I am very new to this and trying to figure out what my muzzle velocity is for my Tikka T3x lite chambered in 300 win mag. The bullet I am using is the Hornady Eld-X 178. The Tikka has a 24 3/8" barrel and the barrel Hornady uses for testing is 26" and on their website they say that barrel has a muzzle velocity of 2960. I don't have any fancy tools to figure out the muzzle velocity of my gun so I was wondering if somebody already has this information or has an easy way of figuring it out. Thank you.

jimbires is probably close, but....it is a guess. Different barrels of the same length often show a fairly wide velocity range with identical loads. For anything other than long range shooting....it should be "close enough for government work"! ;) memtb

At today's prices you should get a chronograph, then you will know. My brother and I split an Oehler back in the mid 80's when the cost of a good chronograph was equal to about 2 good rifles. Best investment I ever made. Today you can pick up one of the less expensive chronographs for half the cost of a good rifle. If you are going to reload there is no excuse to not have one.

Your best way to have a rough idea will be the range. It will need to likely have a distance of 700 or more yards. then go by the chart on the box and start shooting moving out as you shoot. you will soon know if your velocity is higher or lower. A Hornady ballistic calculator avlible on their web site should help you find your velocity or close to it. It is impossible to guess what velocity a rifle will give you.

Hello,