Muzzeloader 209 primer questions

dazz397

I am new to muzzleloading and no one I know does it so I don't have any one to ask. The forums here seem very helpful so I'm going to try asking here. I decided to buy a CVA Accura V2 and got the blackhorn 209 breechplug for it. Primers are hard to come by these days but I got some remington sts primers from a friend. The primers seem to fit very loosely and doesn't seem like it seats at all. Is this normal? I have attached a picture for reference.

I see people adding O rings to seal the primer. Is this something thats recommended?

Also I notice blackhorn recommends federal 209a and cci 209m magnum primers. Will I have a problem igniting with remington 209 sts primers?

I have not even taken a shot yet so I'm trying figure everything out so I can take it to the range. Thanks for any help in advance.

Attachments

• 20210201_185905.jpg
    20210201_185905.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 182
With the black horn powder you do want to use the federal magnum shotgun primers . It's harder to ignite for sure but man is it good stuff. As for and o- ring I'm not certain

I am new to muzzleloading and no one I know does it so I don't have any one to ask. The forums here seem very helpful so I'm going to try asking here. I decided to buy a CVA Accura V2 and got the blackhorn 209 breechplug for it. Primers are hard to come by these days but I got some remington sts primers from a friend. The primers seem to fit very loosely and doesn't seem like it seats at all. Is this normal? I have attached a picture for reference.

I see people adding O rings to seal the primer. Is this something thats recommended?

Also I notice blackhorn recommends federal 209a and cci 209m magnum primers. Will I have a problem igniting with remington 209 sts primers?

I have not even taken a shot yet so I'm trying figure everything out so I can take it to the range. Thanks for any help in advance.