longrange 300 win mag load

mceads

Can somebody help with a longrange deer-hog load for the 300 win mag? This is my first time loading this caliber.Also bullet recommendations please.

Six,

The 300 winnie is one of my favorite calibers . That being said my loads and what is good for you may be a bit different .

That being said I can give you some starting loads to look for what is accurate in your rifle .

Starting at 73.2 grs. of RL 22 and working up to a max of 74 grs. under a 190 smk you are likely to find a really good load for your winnie .

I am seating 25 thou off so that will take care of any hunting situations . My rifle is a custom with a match bbl and much tweaking by Chris Matthews at Long Shot rifles . It has routinely shot .5 moa with an occasional 1/4 moa thrown in when all the planets were aligned and so on .

74 grs is where my combo gets together with es of 18 and sd of 6 . These arent bench rest quality numbers but will work good for the shooter of flesh . That is also on the ragged edge of pressure ! That is also on ther ragged edge of pressure ! Work your way up is my recommendation .

This load was arrived at independtly on my part only to find out later that it is a load that was reached / recommended by Sierra to the military . I believe that I have that right but anyone please correct any errors on my part . That may take a lot of someones /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/blush.gif

I use Lapua brass , fed 215 gm primers and only neck size with a Lee collet neck die untill I reach the 8 or soi reload mark and then bump the body .0015 with a Reddind body6 die and this bump is checked with a Redding instant case comparator.

Jim B

My favorite load in the 300 Win is winn. cases,federal 215 primers 81 grains of H-1000 and 180grain AccuBond or TXS. The H-1000 gave me only a 5 fps extreme spread and that is the least amount of extreme spread of the powders that I tried....
I hope this helps............ /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif