Long range???

captdavid

I have been hunting for over forty years and a 300yd shot is my longest to date. I have some questions for you guys.Using Rifles, what do you consider the minimum amount of energy that you would want to have to kill a whitetail deer? At what ranges do you practice? How much farther will you shoot than you practice? How do you practice at long rang using hunting conditions. What is the group size that you think is the maximum that you should have at your maximum range? /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif capt david

May I suggest that you use the SEARCH function for some of those questions since we have covered most of them extensively in the past. Long range is an individual thing, we do not quantify it here, we just shoot to the limitations of our ability to place a lethal first shot. If you do the searches you will find info from many individuals, some of whom may or may not still be around.
Good luck in your info-gathering.

I totally agree with what Ian said. I have heard it said a time or two that a person needs to have about 800 ft. pounds of energy at the target to consistently expire animals at extended ranges. Now take into consideration that all of these are relative to where you hit the animal and various other things such as bullet performance. I have also been told that UNDER FIELD CONDITIONS you need to be able to make consistent first shot hits on a milk jug sized target. The only real time to use a bench is for load development and to make sure your rifle can prove itself worthy of long range hunting. But other than that it is best in my opinion to practice under field conditions.