Long Range scopes

PanHandel

3 scopes I am considering. I have 2 Leupolds &amp; they are excelent. <u>Does anyone have any info on the ATN or Shepherd?</u>
*ATN 4-12X60LU. Has 6 interchangable Cams for different balistics. 1/8 MOA at 100Y. Price $400
*Shepherd P2 has Cool Retical for ranging from 100Y to 1000Y Price $600
*Leupold VXIII 4.5-12X50 LR with Boon &amp; Crocket Retical Price $770

Welcome PanHandel,

Stick with a Leupold or a Nightforce scope. I have no personal experience with a Shephard scope but when doing my research I read more negative feedback than positive about the Shephard Scopes. Search the board, I think there might be some information in the optics section.

Frank D

Will second what was said on ATN`s. Briefly saw one on a 300WM CZ. It lasted three shots before the reticle broke, that was from new. We compared it to an old Meopta resolution etc it was not in the same class by a long way.

I would prefer iron sights rather than an ATN.

David.

Thanks for the info.
Shooting a 7mm Mag. Hand load 165gr spitzer &amp; H380, slow burning. 2800fps. Very accurate in this gun. The balistics match the Shephard P2 perfictly out to 800y. I like the retical on the Shephard but wory about the glass. The Leupold has excelent image.

I have a Nightforce as well, super scope but$$$$$
the shepherd scope is good, glass is equal to the Super Sniper and maybe a little better. Sightron scopes are also good but if you are looking for a rangeing retical, give the Shepherd a try, they are often on ebay for 390-400 dollars, I have 2 left, one on my 300 WM is still holding strong and works great so far out to 600 yards it is dead on.

IMO: if you want a scope for 800.00 or less with super glass, go with xotic Optics.

300 or less, go with Super Sniper

bullet drop compisation in the retical, Burris FF2, about 325.00

bullet drop compisation and range finding on elk or deer, Shepherd out to 1000 yards