Life sized elk target

.gacton

Looking at building a life sized elk target. Trying to get ready for my first elk hunt this fall. Second rifle season in CO. Would like to be able to move it to different distances and angles/views. Just realized, I'm not sure how big to make it! Lol. Any suggestions would be appreciated. I'm no artist, by any means, so it will probably be body and neck. Height at the back and length from front of neck to rear of quarter.

Looking at building a life sized elk target. Trying to get ready for my first elk hunt this fall. Second rifle season in CO. Would like to be able to move it to different distances and angles/views. Just realized, I'm not sure how big to make it! Lol. Any suggestions would be appreciated. I'm no artist, by any means, so it will probably be body and neck. Height at the back and length from front of neck to rear of quarter.
Adults grow to around 6–10 ft (1.8–3 m) in length and stand 2.5–5.6 ft (0.75–1.7 m) tall at the wither. Elk bulls generally weigh between 700 and 1100 lb (300–500 kg), while cows weigh 575–625 lb (260–285 kg).

Thanks for the replies. We use full sized targets for training the younger hunters in the family as they grow up. Deer, coyote, even beaver and squirrel. It helps them understand what to look for and keeps them interested in shooting when paper targets get boring. Thought this might do the same for the group going on this trip.

For what it is worth >>> https://www.bigskyrealarcherytargets.com/Products/Targets/Elk/