Kimber rifle question please

Kooz7

Hi all,

I am considering a Kimber Adirondack in .308 . I found a shop that has a new one for $1140 , which seems to be substantially less than the normal price . I keep running across internet complaints about Kimber quality and accuracy problems. I have no experience with these guns and was hoping some of you who own one of these rifles or have experience with them could share your experiences . Thanks

kooz

I had a kimber 8400 classic. Sent it back to kimber and they rebarrelled it due to accuracy issues. I had good luck with their customer service. The gun I got back was accurate for two shots then you had to let the barrel cool. If you didn't your group size went from two shots almost touching to about two inches. Got tired of two hour shooting sessions with the gun and sold it.

I own three Kimbers. A 84 in 243 with a brux 26" barrel and a 8400 in 300 win mag also with a 26" #4 Brux barrel. Both guns shoot very well. The reason for the barrels is I wanted to use these rifles more for all around shooting. They both are 1/2 MOA rifles as far out as I've been able to shoot which is 700Yards. The barrels that come with them are really thin or small and I believe barrel whip and heat are the two real problems for their accuracy issues. The third rifle I've left alone. It's a 270WSM and shoots 3/4 groups well if I pay attention to the barrel heat. Real nice to carry in the field. I horse hunt and pack a lot and carry rifles in scabbards so weight is important. Kimber designed these guns for light in the field use. Not for long range accuracy.