KIMBER MT. ASCENT GOES NUTS

I use a "T" allen wrench to torque all of my action screws. It twists and stops rotating when the torque is just right.
Being an engine builder, I can tell you that if you are NOT lubricating your screws, your torque readings will be off by as much as 30% and the possibility of breaking one goes up EVERY time they are torqued DRY.
I recommend using nickel anti-seize on ALL threads when torque is critical.
One easy way to know if your torque is on the money is if the screw/bolt 'cracks' when you loosen them.

Cheers.
Is "nickel anti-seize" a brand, or a type of anti-seize?

I use a "T" allen wrench to torque all of my action screws. It twists and stops rotating when the torque is just right.
Being an engine builder, I can tell you that if you are NOT lubricating your screws, your torque readings will be off by as much as 30% and the possibility of breaking one goes up EVERY time they are torqued DRY.
I recommend using nickel anti-seize on ALL threads when torque is critical.
One easy way to know if your torque is on the money is if the screw/bolt 'cracks' when you loosen them.

Cheers.
As an engine builder you would know there are actually multiple torque settings for each bolt.
Dry, graphite, white grease, 30 wt, 40wt, anti seize etc...the bolt finish even affects the torque setting (ex, galvanized bolts require different torque)

The problem I see is that I have never seen a gun manufacture spec out what type of or lack of lube on the bolts, just a spec (if you are lucky)

If the torque spec is 65 in lbs dry, and you use 40wt oil to torque it to 65 in pounds, you may break the bolt.

As an engine builder you would know there are actually multiple torque settings for each bolt.
Dry, graphite, white grease, 30 wt, 40wt, anti seize etc...the bolt finish even affects the torque setting (ex, galvanized bolts require different torque)