I'm hooked.....

cornchuck

....to hunting coyotes that is. I have always been intrigued with coyotes and hunting them. I like watching Randy Anderson's videos and watching Les Johnson on tv. I got to admit I haven't been out since my wife and I moved to northwest Ohio 5 years ago. Just didn't see them as much as I did when we lived in south central Ohio. We might hear them or see one once a year. But guys up here hunt them in the winter with dogs.

I went back home (1.5 hours east of Columbus) for deer gun season and my stepdad was complaining about the coyotes running the deer on our farm. I only got to hunt the first day because I got called back home to finish some field work before it got cold towards the end of that week. That was the first week of December and I am a farmer. That first day I only saw 3 deer when we use to see 20 or more. I knew something was not right. Coyotes, disease. Didn't know.

So my wife had it scheduled to be off work Christmas Eve. I thought that would be a great time to see if I could get a coyote. I got up Christmas Eve morning with some wind and about 3/4 inch of snow. My thought was this wasn't going to work. But I went out anyway.