Hornady 53. gr v-max, anybody tried?

strombeckj

Hello all,

I am new to this forum and am addicted to PD shooting. It started with a Winchester model 70 varmint hunter in .223. which I shot for 4 yrs before handing it off to Kevin weaver for a re-barrel which turned into a complete re-work, which is now turning into my 2nd rifle being built buy him in 12 months time. Not to mention I am also new to reloading since he took my .223 and I ended up with .223AI.

My question is this. I have seen on Hornadys website the new 53gr v-max's. These super bullets boast a .290 b.c. NOW, has anyone had a chance to shoot them? As I have not been able to locate any yet to work up some loads.

Thanks

I think you will have to order them from Hornady's website. I looked all over the place and didn't see any for sale yet. If you can push those things around 3300+, they will be great for pdoggin.

That's a great Idea; I know hornady is not selling them directly. But I will give them a call to find out who may have them or when they'll ship. I'm thinking I may be able to get these close to 3500fps with my AI Chamber. I just worked up some new loads with the 8202 XBR that start at 26.5gr and max out at 28.6gr's using some 50gr ballistic tips. These should fly out the tube at over 3700fps with the max load.
(Not that I will be able to shoot that with accuracy or no signs of pressure.) Just waiting on a decent day to pull the trigger weather wise now.

Have you tried any of the 52gr. Amax?

They may not have quite the explosive factory the Vmax has but those little 52gr Amax's are one of if not the most accurate bullet I've shot in my .223 A good stiff dose of Benchmark, those 52Amax and Mmmmm it's allll good. Coyotes seem to really hate them though. :)