Henry Long Ranger 6.5 Creedmoor

thebearking

Sorry If this is in the wrong spot, I'm still pretty new to LRH. I am looking a christmas present for my dad, who cut his teeth hunting whitetail with a Marlin 30-30 lever action. So fast forward to now, and I saw the Henry Long Ranger chambered in 6.5 creedmoor and thought it may be exactly what he is looking for, a gun he could use on deer drives and something that could reach out 400+ yards on a whitetail with some power while still being a lever action. However, doing some reading on it, it appears it comes with a pretty heavy trigger. I'm reading some reviews that are putting it north of 7-8 lbs which I know 100% he absolutely hates any of his guns being that heavy. I have a 30-06 with a timney that is 2.5lbs and he loved it so much he changed out a couple of his guns the following week for something similar.

So my question comes to this, how hard is it to adjust this trigger down to something closer to his preference? I have seen a couple irksome post on what people had to go through to change the Browning BLRs and I definitely don't want to sign him up for something like that, and if that is the case - I might go a completely different route with something like an AR-10 get him where he would want to be. Thank you all in advance for any information, it would be greatly appreciated.

From what I've read on the net it's possible. Will be a real pain. I would have a qualified gun smith tackle the trigger job but from what I've seen under 4lb may not be possible. But I'm not sure. If it were me I'd look at other rifles. Ar10 you can get lots of updates if your building it your self the sky's the limit. Me personally if your set on a 6.5 creed. Tikka t3x light. Affordable great action hell love the trigger. If your into hand loading 97g absolute hammers and 124 hammer hunter shoot amazing out of my wife's Tikka.