Help with ring from seater dye

theEMP

Hey guys needing a little help. I've been reloading for a few years now but am now having a bit of trouble. When I seat my bullets I'm getting a ring around them from the seater. It used to just be a faint mark but after annealing my brass it has now become very noticeable. If you run your finger nail down it you will feel a catch. I've tried switching out the seaters with no change. I tried different bullets but it is still there. I am kind of at a loss at what is going on. I'm wondering if I need to polish the seater but if that was the case I would think it would have left when I switched them. Any ideas or advise would be great. I'm just hoping I didn't ruin my brass while attempting to anneal it. The pictures show the ring I'm looking at. The brass is nossler bullet is 180 grain accubonds. Thanks

Attachments

• IMG_20151027_100555063_HDR.jpg
    IMG_20151027_100555063_HDR.jpg
    36.4 KB · Views: 86
  • IMG_20151027_145310712_HDR.jpg
    IMG_20151027_145310712_HDR.jpg
    100.5 KB · Views: 81
theEMP

I have been reloading for over 47 years and have never seen the imprint from the seater as your photos.

1. Most die manufactures if you send them three bullets , they will make a custom seater plug that will not mark the bullet.

2. Your bullets show signs of excessive seating force, which means excessive neck tension "OR" excessive drag inside the neck or both.

I have seen shooters recommend brushing the inside of the neck with a bore brush after annealing. But I have a feeling the annealing process is causing your problem.

Sized case neck dia. vs bullet dia. ??? Sonic case cleaning ??? Powder fill level ??? Proper chamfering ??? Annealing method ??? Neck sizing method and neck tension ??? More info please.

Sized case neck dia. vs bullet dia. ??? Sonic case cleaning ??? Powder fill level ??? Proper chamfering ??? Annealing method ??? Neck sizing method and neck tension ??? More info please.