Help with bullet choice for 7 mm STW

Blacktail

I have a STW a guy built for me 26" Shilen Mpi Stock etc. I am pretty new to loading and after some help from folks here got 72.5 gr of H4831 to shoot 140 accubonds at about 3250 fps and hold under .5". Was happy until it blew up on a whitetail running away from me at 150 yards. The bullet hit the left hind quarter and never even reached or broke the bone. Since then tried the TSX in 140 and with the same powder 3/4" up to 75 gr of powder and 3350 fps. I now hear the bullet maybe too hard and not opening up enough. I got the gun for antelope, coues and long range mulies. I am now thinking bout using the accubonds on lopes and coues and blacktails and the tsx on mulies. Any suggestions? Maybe the mrx, berger or even an A-Frame. The gun does not like Nosler Part. Thanks

My first choice would be the 160 Accubond.

Personally, I like the heavier bullets.

I assume he put a 9 twist barrel on it?

If your rifle does not like the Nosler bullets, you may want to try these:

168 Berger
180 Berger
162 Hornady A-Max
175 SMK

I'll make it unanimous the 160 AB !!

My luck with the 140gr bullets was vary mixed ,the nozler partition
worked up close but not past 300 yrd's , The Barns X,s did not work
at any distance. And the blistic tip only worked well at 500+ yrds.

The 160 AB will work at all reasonable distances and so will other
bonded core bullets.

The SMK's will work at extreme distance where velocities are around
1800 ft/sec or lower.

The 160 AB is what I use in the 7mm RUM.

Just my 2 cents
J E CUSTOM

I have had good results with 150gr. Scirroco and 76gr RL22. I have not heard much about this bullet, but it has performed well for me in two different cartridges. What is the general opinion of the Scirroco?

Hope this helps and look forward to any comments on this bullet,

Hank