HELP: Hornady seater is crimping/smashing the bullet ogive

CB11WYO

Hey guys. This is my first time using Hornady dies. They're Custom Grade 223 wssm, loading for a friend. The seater is smashing my bullet ogives (see pic) (Hornady 68gr BTHP). I seat as follows: seat 1/3 depth, rotate 1/3 turn, seat another 1/3 depth, rotate again and seat completely. I did notice that the effect is lessened if I seat completely in one pass without rotating... But it still smashed them slightly. Also noticed that the cartridge base to ogive measurements had what I considered to be a lot of variance... +-.005

Think it's a die issue? Bullet issue? Or loading technique?

Thanks!

Attachments

• 20150831_141814.jpg
    20150831_141814.jpg
    396.7 KB · Views: 139
First off, you have the wrong seater stem. Myself, I custom machine my own stems as every ogive is different, but you can buy the stems from the die maker.

Secondly, never rotate the seat die thimble when it's in conact with the pill, never. Set you seating depth within say 0.005 and then finish the seating (without pushing and rotating the seater stem or thinble. Pull the loaded cartridge, check the length (with the appropriate gage and not on the end of the pill, thats an erroneous reading), (the length must be checked on the ogive with a set of calipers and the appropriate gage (Hornady sells a set that will rin about any cartridge you will load).

Thirdly, it appears to me that your necks are too small. You using a bushing die or a standard reloading die? I'd be checking neck diameter and comparing that to bullet (pill) diameter. Rule of thumb is you wamt the neck diameter (sized) to be about 0.002 less than the bullet (pill) diameter.

Interesting comment. I load compressed charges all the time, especially when jumping way over Sammi spec with no issues whatsoever.