Help for a New Guy!

hillhunt

Hi guys, have been reading on the site on and off for a while. Finally got the nerve up to purchase a new rifle (wife says I'm a tightwad) and want your advice first.

I'm new to long range shooting, the farthest I have taken a deer is around 350 w my trusty old stock Ruger M77 in 7mm Rem Mag. This rifle has been good to me for the last 20 years, it was handed down from my dad and not really interested in modifying it much since it has sentimental value as is.

I want to stay with the 7mm Rem mag or possibly a 280 AI just to be different. I like the 7mm rounds because the majority of the shots on game will be on whitetail, but also want to stay large enough to maybe one day go on an elk or mule deer hunt and not need a larger caliber.

I want the benefits of having a custom rifle from an accuracy standpoint and have access to loading equipment to reload, what I don't have right now is 1) a knowledge base on what loads to use in reloading to find the right loads, 2) a lot of time on my hands.

My question, is it worth it to let someone do all the leg work in building a rifle, breaking in barrel, working up a load, maybe even outfitting w a scope and custom turrets or am I wasting money going that route. I don't have a problem going to my range and practicing, but my time is often very limited from February to October year in year out, so I would rather have my time spent practicing w a proven load learning wind, and distance calculations rather than wondering if I'm shooting the right bullet. I don't feel like I would be interested in taking anything over 1000 yards but who knows. I do want to be able to take an animal at 6-800 regularly though, with plenty of practice.

Sorry for the long post but wanted to give all the info possible. Any advice is welcome guys, if I'm being an idiot let me know haha.

hillhunt, here are my initial thoughts on your project...