Encore Pro Hunter XT Vs Rem 700 Muzzleloader

JO201

I will start by saying that I am new to hunting and even newer to muzzle loaders. I used a muzzle loader for the first time this past hunting season and I am now looking into buying one before the next season.

With my limited knowledge, the one thing I know I want is a muzzle loader that gives me more range. I started reading and stumbled on the Rem 700. I also saw the Pro Hunter XT and some of the literature online that it claims that it has an extended range in part due to the 28" barrel. I started leaning to the TC but then I read an article about changing the barrel on the TC Pro Hunters and changing hinge pins and working the trigger and then I started to doubt my initial inclination towards the Pro Hunter.

I figured that this would be a great place to tap into the experience of some of the members that could help me make a decision or if I am thinking about it the wrong way, give me some guidance on what my thought process should be.

I appreciate the feedback.

Jimmy

The T/C Pro Hunter is an excellent rifle, had many of them. One can't really go wrong with a Pro Hunter. Most of the things you read about the Encore platform rifles or, at least the most common issue, is about the hinge pin. For most shooters it doesn't matter and most would never know the difference. However if you're talking getting the absolute best from the rifle, then a hinge pin replacement may be necessary. Hinge pins are easily accessible and are pretty cheap to replace. Last I knew a 1x and 2x was about $16 or so. Most all other modifications owners make are for personal preference, with trigger pull being next. However all the modifications that are made by some shooters looking for absolute accuracy from Pro Hunters, costs in the neighborhood of around $35 plus shipping. The modifications some make, actually make it feel and shoot like a completely different rifle than when removed from the box.