eletronic powder measures

Yes, but with a 10-10 scale when loading for hunting/target loads. For bulk .223, no.

Depends on the usage and how hot the load is.
Average turtle shooting 284 out to 800 or so, probably not.
LR stuff yeah, or anything close to being a hand grenade.
223 no way.

Though I'm a newbie, I'm starting to shift over to electronic only (Chargemaster 1500). Using the Uniflow thrower, I was getting a 1.2gr spread on 4064 with a 42.5gr load; seemed ridiculous. Granted, it's extruded powder and doesn't throw nicely. What powder spread are you guys getting? I'm thinking of getting a second CM 1500 so I can be consistently alternating between loading powder and seating the bullets.

I run the chargemaster and double check every load on a gempro 250. I am only loading for accuracy (not bulk 223 stuff or anything).

I really wonder if I need to do that, as it does add time. A national f-class competitor I know doesn't bother doing that. I wonder if going to that level of load accuracy would really make that much of a difference for what I do (do not compete, just shoot and hunt).

Still, for now, I continue doing it get the best result I can.

For a good while I checked CM charges with a higher resolution Acculab scale.
Eventually I modified the CM & got to where I can tell & drop to single kernels, and sold off the Acculab.

As far as how accurate you need, the load will tell you that with testing, and there is no other way to know really.

How did you modify it? I get a fair number of overthrows, and it would be nice to be able to tailor that a bit.

I put a motor speed adjustment in play & calibrate per powder.

Attachments

• CMmodsSM.jpg
    CMmodsSM.jpg
    25 KB · Views: 72
  • ScaleMod2SM.jpg
    ScaleMod2SM.jpg
    44.2 KB · Views: 69
Wow, that is some setup. Way past me.

As to the straw method, if you mean putting a straw inside the tube, yes I am.