Discussion about bullets, tumbling and expanding

coldboremiracle

Hey guys, hope this is a good place for this. I've had some recent experiences that got me thinking about this subject. Curious about what your experiences have shown compared to my own. I'd love to hear your thoughts about it, without of course degenerating into zealotry.

My take on this is…..use a bullet that has a very low likelihood of failure from "point blank" range to their maximum range for proper expansion!

I also believe that, even with improvements in bullet technology" we have far too many shooters that choose to shoot calibers/cartridges that are minimal under optimal conditions …..and wear it as "a badge of honor" to be shooting the smallest of calibers, relying to "their" perfect bullet placement to kill the animal!

Yes…..I'm very opinionated, and I do not apologize! memtb

My take on this is…..use a bullet that has a very low likelihood of failure from "point blank" range to their maximum range for proper expansion!

I also believe that, even with improvements in bullet technology" we have far too many shooters that choose to shoot calibers/cartridges that are minimal under optimal conditions …..and wear it as "a badge of honor" to be shooting the smallest of calibers, relying to "their" perfect bullet placement to kill the animal!

Yes…..I'm very opinionated, and I do not apologize! memtb

I kind of agree with your assessment. I tend to go the other way and select a cartridge that is on the heavier end of needed ballistic performance.

Good write up! I think we are wayyy too concerned with how a bullet looks when recovered, rather than taking the time to dissect the animal and see what the tissue looks like. We've been fed a steady stream of marketing showing perfect mushrooms and that has somehow become a benchmark for bullet performance.