Custom Barrel Question

308cal

Can a contoured blank, normally used for a bolt gun, be re contoured and finished for an AR-15 barrel?

Reason I ask, is I have a .270 blank, just slightly larger than a #4, and was wondering if I could have an AR barrel built out of it, for a .277 Wolverine?

I'm a somewhat competent machinist with a vert mill and 6 foot lathe. Just take a look at an AR-15 barrel. there are some very difficult machining processes. you have a gas port, the index pin to the upper receiver, and how in the heck can you duplicate the bolt locking lugs without some specialized cnc machine?

Oh I forgot buying a 277-45 reamer and go no go guage

So IMO just buy a barrel

I'm a somewhat competent machinist with a vert mill and 6 foot lathe. Just take a look at an AR-15 barrel. there are some very difficult machining processes. you have a gas port, the index pin to the upper receiver, and how in the heck can you duplicate the bolt locking lugs without some specialized cnc machine?

Oh I forgot buying a 277-45 reamer and go no go guage

So IMO just buy a barrel

Let me try and help out, you will need to buy a barrel extension, reamer and headspace gauge(s), profile and thread the barrel, then chamber, probably not a first lathe project but doable.

Oh, I wasn't referring to myself doing the metal work, I was just wondering if it could be done.

I've had 2 other individuals on another forum tell me it would be no issue at all to complete. However they both build barrels and guns for a living.