Coyote setup

hilltopdude

This is my first post here, greetings to all. I have never hunted Coyote.
There seems to have been a huge burst in the Coyote population around
our farm. I have shot a few with my 30-06 when I caught one in the feild
and from my deer stand. I am going to start this year activly going after them.
I several rifles in differant cal. But I want to build a Coyote rifle on the AR15
frame I have a Bushmaster with open sites and feel compfortable with this rifle. SO let the advise fly, and please let me know what your setup is. I don't
want to use the current AR, I am going to start from scratch, and TRY to stay
under 1500.
Thanks in advance for your help.

Last edited:
Unless you are dead set on a .223/5.56 I would build an 18 inch 6.5 Grendel using a Liberty barrel ( Saturn ) and use a MI ss forearm. I'd stick a standard Vortex Viper PA 6.5 - 20 x 50 on top using Warnee Tactical quick detach rings. A simple ACE skeleton stock would work (that's what I use), but I'd probably put a PRS sniper stock on it since you'd be shooting prone most of the time. I'd also get an Atlas bipod for it. I'd also get an Atlas mono-pod. I use one on my rifles. Great for shooting prone.

I buy all my AR parts at Surplus Arms and Ammo. They have great prices. Their product is very very good. They have goo things to say about them on AR15.com (hate that site). The plus is .... they are only 20 miles from me.

I'd also use a WCI muzzle brake. Excellent brake .... and looks good on there. It's also not nearly as loud as some muzzle brakes.

Here's what mine looks like ........

100_0855.jpg

100_0854.jpg

100_0852.jpg

http://www.longrangehunting.com/forums/f17/6-5-grendel-ar-81801/

Click on the link right above this sentence to see pics of my setup.

20" Saturn barrel w/bolt
Millennium muzzle brake bought from Alexander Arms.
Timmey trigger
Magpul PRS buttstock
Fail zero bolt carrier
6-24x50 Nikon monarch